However missouri law does not prohibit you from talking on your cell phone unless you are driving a commercial vehicle. Penalties for texting and driving in missouri.
These drivers are permitted to use electronic devices.
Is it illegal to text and drive in missouri. Penalties for texting and driving in missouri. That are factory installed or aftermarket gps devices. As of january 2012 bus drivers could no longer use hand held devices while driving.
Exceptions to distracted driving restrictions. Missouri s distracted driving law contains a number of exceptions that apply to underage and commercial drivers alike. Studies suggest that stiffer texting laws could save more lives.
To report illegal activity. Same as hb 1290. Would bar text messaging by all drivers in missouri not just those under age 21.
This is a primary offense meaning police officers do not need another reason to make a traffic stop for texting and driving. The new missouri law going into effect today prohibits drivers of 21 years of age or younger from sending reading or writing electronic messages while driving. Texting while driving is illegal if you are 21 or under or are operating a commercial vehicle or obviously both.
The penalties for texting and driving for those under the age of 21 are a 200 fine and points against their license. Seeks to ban texting driving for all ages. While lawfully parked or stopped.
Missouri is the 23rd state to ban the use of texting while driving. Cell phone calls are legal for drivers of all ages in missouri. According to a recent washington post article many additional lives may be saved if the ban were expanded to allow police to pull over any driver any time if he sees the driver texting.
Some are saying missouri laws are making it worse for the state. Yet missouri does not have strict laws when it comes to talking on your cell phone or texting while operating a vehicle. Texting and driving is illegal in missouri but current laws are aimed at teenagers and novice drivers.
The law sponsored by sen. Drivers under the age of 21 are not allowed to text and drive. Missouri is one of the four standing states that doesn t have all age laws against texting and driving.
Drivers older than 21 are free to make phone calls and text while they are behind the wheel. However in missouri it is illegal for drivers under 21 years old to send read or write electronic messages while driving. Would extend texting driving prohibition to all ages and also bar handheld phone calls.
While it is illegal in illinois to text talk or use a phone at all without a hands free device missouri only bans those under 21 from texting and driving. It is also legal to read and send text messages if you are lawfully parked or stopped. If you are under 21 or a commercial driver caught texting while driving you could face fines for breaking the law.
The texting law in missouri is a primary enforcement. Texting and driving is a dangerous practice and people face stiff penalties for using a phone behind the wheel in missouri. As of today missouri is the 23rd state to ban the use of texting while driving.